School houses

Ferryhill has a house system with pupils divided into subunits called ‘houses’. Pupils are allocated to a house upon enrolment in the school. At Ferryhill, we have four houses named after local castles. These are:

  • Crathes (yellow)
  • Dunnottar (green)
  • Fraser (red)
  • Drum (blue).

Each house has a P7 House Captain, often along with a Vice Captain and Sports Captain. Pupils are elected for these roles following the presentation of their manifestos.

Houses compete against each other at sports and other events and provide a way for pupils to form positive relationships across classes and ages.