The Curriculum for Excellence was designed to achieve a transformation in education in Scotland by providing a coherent, more flexible and enriched curriculum from 3 to 18.

It is intended to help children and young people gain the knowledge, skills and attributes they will need to thrive now and in the future. The term curriculum is broader than the classroom – it includes everything that is planned for children throughout their education.

The curriculum aims to enable all children to become successful learners, confident individuals, responsible citizens and effective contributors.

There are eight curriculum areas:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and wellbeing
  • Languages (including English, Gaidhlig, Gaelic learners and modern languages)
  • Mathematics
  • Religious and moral education
  • Sciences
  • Social studies
  • Technologies.

School staff are responsible for designing the learning experience for the pupils in their care using the following seven broad principles: challenge and enjoyment; breadth; progression, depth; personalisation and choice; coherence; and relevance.

During their education at Ferryhill, our aim is for our children to:

  • achieve the highest possible levels of literacy, numeracy and cognitive skills
  • develop skills for learning, skills for life and skills for work
  • develop knowledge and understanding of society, the world and Scotland’s place in it
  • experience challenge and success so that they can develop well-informed views and the four capacities.

Our new approach to homework was introduced to support the aims and objectives of the Curriculum for Excellence.